original ideas…

There is a lot of discussion around an article from boston.com on how blogging is good for your career, Tom Raferty is trying an experiment on his own blog to see if he will be hired as a direct result of someone finding him online. (He is off to a good start with a link from gapingvoid's Hugh Macleod and Shel Isreal.)

At the end of our second year in college we were advised to start a website of our own – of which some of my class did, Adam Maguire's being one of the most successful. The website poetbloggs.com was originally set-up, along with this blog, to be used as a portfolio – see first attempt here. (Apologies for all of the links)

Since the site was set-up in August last year I have been offered two short term contracts – both in design. This success, has in the very least, paid for the site hosting and a bit more. However, as my undergraduate career is coming to an end, I am starting to look at job prospects and how the website and blog will help me in this endeavour.

With all of this in mind, not much will really change. I enjoy blogging about the arts, it has kept me sane during the frantic final weeks of the BA, and it has prompted me to pick up my own pen more often. So if anyone is looking for an experienced journalist, blogger, designer, photographer or PR/marketing assistant give me a shout. I'm back in Dublin in a few weeks and I will graciously consider all positions. (I can make a pretty good cup of coffee when I have to.)

Best of luck with the experiment Tom! Pure Play, Damien Mulley and Mental Meanderings all link to the 'Gis a Job' experiment.

UPDATE: Two offers in the last week that can be traced back to the website.

1) The man in this picture has asked me to do several portraits of his family as a result of posting this shot on the site.

2) An IT company in Wolverhampton has asked me to help them set-up a marketing/design plan for their corporate re-branding. (I'm going to include a blog in this, consider it a thank-you offering to the great blogosphere)

2 Responses to “original ideas…”


  1. 1 Cybez April 24, 2006 at 11:43 am

    I haven’t even been offered a drink :-(

  2. 2 poetbloggs April 24, 2006 at 4:45 pm

    Consider this a formal offer:

    I'll send you your favourite drink, in can-form, direct from Wolverhampton… Your first blog perk.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

