therapeutic blogging

In the interest of conversation I want to raise a question about blogging. Especially after I came across a few blogs that are using their respective sites as a form of therapy. Are these the 21st century’s version of keeping a diary, with the single largest difference that anyone can read what you write? I think site’s such as these give an insight into the people and may help them, but how many of these types of blogs are there? (And who reads all of them?)

All of those that I have read seem to have a specific audience in mind – as in here and here. Are these blogs relevant to anyone online? I enjoyed reading all of those that I read in preparation of this post, but am just a little sceptical.

first the blog awards, now live blogging St. Patricks Day: Twenty Major, what is next?

8 Responses to “therapeutic blogging”


  1. 1 Ovid Yeats March 20, 2006 at 10:18 pm

    I think that writing is nothing more than “therapy”, in the sense that it is you sussing out yourself by emptying your mind onto the page, and the thing about blogging is there are no rules, so you make it up as you go along.

  2. 2 poetbloggs March 20, 2006 at 11:37 pm

    All writing has rules (grammer to begin with) – and no medium should be approached with a ‘make it up’ attitude. Blogs are self-published and self-regulated, as are most medium (poetry, fiction etc.) but writers do not make it up as they go along, or at least revise before they publish.

  3. 3 poetbloggs March 22, 2006 at 3:12 pm

    Apologies to the owner of maskedm.wordpress.com – one of the blogs I linked to above. He has removed his blog from wordpress, I hope this had nothing to do with my post and that you will return to blogging soon.

    Regretfully,
    pb.

  4. 4 Jen March 29, 2006 at 3:58 pm

    I reckon that blogs and the internet in general forms a whole alternate reality. People who are insecure and shy all of a sudden develop strange e-alter egos. Their friends become people who they have never met and probably never will.
    I personally find this a bit worrying, as the alternate life that the internet offers holds them back from living life in the real sense. They live vicariously through their computers and a network of wires.

  5. 5 Kevin April 3, 2006 at 9:41 pm

    Not sure I’d agree, Jen. I blog a fair bit, yet I retain a social and cultural life akin to, if not better than, most Leaving Cert students. Moreover, events like the Irish Blog Awards allowed everyone to get to know each other, and of course, get a bit pissed together. Everyone there seemed utterly normal.

    By the way poetbloggs, I’m a regular reader, am very thankful for the link, and – if I am reading my stats correctly – you’re regular visits to my blog. Can’t wait to get this Leaving Cert over and done with so I can get back to some proper blogging.

  6. 6 poetbloggs April 3, 2006 at 10:24 pm

    thanks Kevin – and best of luck to you in the Leaving Cert, hope the orals’ weren’t too excruciating. I am starting to understand the meaning of blog guilt – abandoning a puppy would be easier than leaving the blog unposted… well maybe not, but the analogy is effective.

    To stick my oar in anyway – I have spent a lot of time researching blogs and the web, especially the idea of a great online discussion. Blogs seem to be an extension to the web as a medium, similar to columnists in print. However, the stereotype of an unsocial, pale faced guy with large glasses still sticks, like the stereotype that the Irish are all drink-mad lyrical poets’. Not everyone online lives life through their computer.

  7. 7 Jane Holland May 9, 2006 at 10:59 am

    I use my blog – http://rawlightblog.blogspot.com – for occasional ranting, which is a form of therapy, I suppose, but I do try to stick to poetry-related topics even when ranting. Not always possible, I’m afraid, because that particular blog is my only blog – I have quite a few sites – which is not prely poetry-oriented. So when I get cross about something and want to get it out of my system, yes, I use that blog to do it.

    I also post up poems on my blog, not necessarily for comment but just to get them out there into the world. Poems I’ve already published elsewhere, poems I’m pretty certain I’ll never want to publish elsewhere. So yes, it can be therapy and yes, I think it’s a modern response to stress or personal problems, to post our feelings online for the whole world to see.

    If they can be bothered to look, that is ….


Leave a Reply

