full disclosure.

I was told a joke in September about writers procrastinating over their work. That every time they sit down to write they will remember something else that is ‘more important’ and leave the desk for a few hours.

At the outset of a project, especially a novel, you laugh this stuff off. But then it happens without you noticing. Once, is okay. Twice, forgivable. But what about three whole months?

The leaky tap in my bath is not important – but I spent three hours devising methods of fixing it. The way the steam from the kettle keeps making the bread go soggy, how is that worth forty-five minutes of my time?

But it was the two series of the West Wing in less than a fortnight that I watched that has me really worried. That’s a huge chunk of time lost to the Bartlett administration.

As a result I am developing a new method to get this project off the ground.

I have advocated, argued and debated the future of writing, publishing and the novel on the site before. My argument stays the same; methods [in writing, distribution and reading] will change but the premise of the novel will remain for the foreseeable future.

But in lieu of mere argument this time, I am going to try and bring it into practice. I’m opening up my writing project to the blogosphere.

I’m going to be doing all the writing, attending lectures, facing all of the criticism etc. But I am going to document the entire process. From what theory/fiction I am reading, how characters are developing, basic plot and sub-plot development as well as anything else that is related/influencing how I write this book.

I will take on-board any and all criticism. Is there something I should have read? Am I spending too much time on a specific subject? Is a chapter not making sense? (You get the idea, I’ll listen to everything and take on as much as I can).

The new site is nearly ready to go live (just gathering as much content as I can find). The aim is for one draft of a novel by May. And a second draft by August.  I’ll let you all know once it goes live. Looking forward to an interesting few months – pb.

3 Responses to “full disclosure.”


  1. 1 steven December 13, 2006 at 3:59 am

    im lovin the picture u hav used to represent your website. who is the photographer?

  2. 3 Barbara Smith December 16, 2006 at 10:46 pm

    Phew pb, you sound quite busy -hope all is well with you. Looking forward to seeing the website when it comes together!


Leave a Reply

